Sticking to Two

After I had my first little boy, I was on cloud 9. I wanted to have at least 3 more just like him. 

Then we had the second little boy. I felt even better after his delivery, and basically asked my husband when we can start trying for a third. 

As time went on, and in the 10 short months since I’ve had number 2, I’ve decided that 2 is a good number. Here are some reasons I’m sticking to two.

Money

Having a baby cost a lot. Not just the basic everyday survival things, but hospital bills and such. I’m still paying bills for the second one. 

Also groceries. Just this morning I watched my 10 month old smash a bowl of oatmeal and a banana AND still cry for a bottle. Having boys is no joke. These kids eat constantly! I don’t think I could add another mouth to feed. 

Space

I drive a hip cool-mom Ford Explorer. It fits all 4 of us comfortably. With a 3rd, I would have to either: A. Climb my big mom butt into the back of the car to fit a kid or B. Trade in my stellar car for a… minivan. 

We have a 4 bedroom house, but where am I going to throw their toys when I don’t want to see them? 

Relationships

Right now, the only relationship I have to think about is how son 1 is relating to son 2. With a third I would have to worry about how A gets along with B and B with C and C with A and who is ganging up who, etc… Not sure if my little mom heart is ready for that. 

Amusement Parks

Honestly, someone will always be without a partner…

Baby stuff

With the littlest getting older, I’m enjoying having 2 little boys and being out of the infant stage.  Infants are cool, snuggly, and sweet, but I like my kids being able to hold their heads up and play with each other. 

Travel

We like the freedom of being able to travel now and in the future. In hotel rooms it’s clear where everyone is sleeping. With a third, we have to think about a pull out or someone sleeping in the tub for a night. 

My kids are also able to enjoy traveling and then things we do as a family. Adding another child will mean my oldest will have to survive mommy and daddy catering to a new baby again, and I really don’t want to do that. 

I’m not knocking anyone who has more than 2 children. I honestly admire those people! I think if I wanted to stay home, I would have no problem having more kids. 

If God has other plans, and we end up having another, we will obviously love the baby and welcome all the changes with open arms. 

For the record, this is how I found them after my shower. They do play well together though! 

Leave a Reply

